Thursday, June 25, 2009

Review: Carpe Corpus by Rachel Caine

Carpe Corpus is the 6th book in the Morganville Vampires young adult series by Rachel Caine. Spoilers here if you haven't read the previous five books!

Summary from Barnes and Noble:
In the small college town of Morganville, vampires and humans lived in (relative) peace—until all the rules got rewritten when the evil vampire Bishop arrived, looking for the lost book of vampire secrets. He's kept a death grip on the town ever since. Now an underground resistance is brewing, and in order to contain it, Bishop must go to even greater lengths. He vows to obliterate the town and all its inhabitants—the living and the undead. Claire Danvers and her friends are the only ones who stand in his way. But even if they defeat Bishop, will the vampires ever be content to go back to the old rules, after having such a taste of power?

I really like this series, but this one started out a little slow for me. I think that was mostly because I had a hard time remembering where the last one left off. I read the other 5 all pretty much back to back, but it was several months ago. Once I got caught up, I enjoyed the book. It's a good series, and I like the twists and turns the story takes.

I love Shane...and Myrnin is always interesting! The series continues with a new book this fall I think. I'll be picking it up!

Rated: 4/5

1 comment:

  1. i love the morganville series and carpe corpus sounds just as good as the previous 5. i cant wait to read it!!